My Very Own “Field of Dreams!”

Yesterday, I watched “Field of Dreams” with my two youngest sons. Once again, I was moved to tears. The message of the movie began to marinate in my heart of hearts as my mind held hands with Imagination. I revisited the desires of my heart…my deepest longings and envisioned my very own “field of dreams.”
“What exactly did it look like?” you may wonder….Well, just close your eyes and let me show you.
My field encompasses a patch of land nestled in the Great Smoky Mountains of Tennessee. Beautiful old trees made perfectly for climbing…or sitting in…or picnicking under..line its borders. Nestled in their leafy midst is an old white farm house capable of housing multiple children and their children. This house made from simple materials, brick and wood and mortar is truly fashioned with the love, messy life and abundant laughter shared within its walls. After all, it is these things that transform a dead structure into a real live home….I see a whole family: myself, a man that cherishes me and fiercely guards the fruit of God’s love, our six sons. I see my boys/men running hither and yon, in and out the screen door as it slams the rhythm of time, marking the endless comings and goings with its comforting sound. I smell the rich earth scent of growing things…I see a carefully tended garden…not perfectly manicured but beautifully messy. I see and hear a myriad of animals from dogs and cats to twenty-four chickens, two roosters, several goats and a single cow. I see myself appropriately but fashionably dressed in an amazing Magnolia Pearl farm dress or perhaps a Tina Givens slip. Most importantly, I feel the ease of life and love in my very own field of dreams. I hear a nearby brook softly singing it’s mountain melody…I feel peace, absolute contentment and total fulfillment like a warmed blanket wrapped around me…pushing away the chill of hopes long deferred. I wake up from this visit and find myself refreshed, inspired and vastly encouraged to keep moving forward with renewed hope…in the absolute future reality of my dreams coming true! I see my loving Father/God gently scoop up these longings and scattered heart-felt desires, so like fledgling birds. I watch him as he tenderly places my yearnings in the downy nest of His very own heart. And I know, that I know, that I know that He will build it, eventually I will come and walk into my very own field of dreams….and it will be better, wider, richer, deeper than I have ever been able to imagine on this side of heaven. So here I sit re-reading what I have just written and a new thought gently settles on the forefront of my mind. Perhaps, it is not so much the actual consummation of the dream itself that is most important but the aliveness I feel when I believe in its potential fulfillment. Maybe the most exquisite aspect of all dreams is the daring wonder that fuels them. Just a thought…

Leave a comment